Gay Pride and Protestant Prejudice

Posted on September 19, 2011

0


Today I’m sharing a video of a song I wrote in 1995.  The song was a response to the church trial of Reverend Greg Dell who officiated a “gay marriage” or holy union service.  It seemed funny to me that the church would attempt to define marriage narrowly as one man and one woman when the Bible itself models marriage and family that included multiple partners.  I had been married a few years by the time of Greg’s trial and people in our churches  were insinuating that they expected to see a baby soon.  We had a lab-mix puppy; wasn’t that enough?  And anyway why should they have an opinion about the size and shape of our family?

So here are the lyrics followed by the tune:

This is the song that we’ll sing when it seems that no-one in the world has a clue about what’s true.

We are a family.  “Family.”  They can keep their definitions-descriptions-afflictions to themselves.

Now they debate God’s favor–God’s blessing, as though they’re the ones who bless.

We’re two leaves drifting on the same breeze, tumbling down, where we yellow and we brown.  And we are…

Family.  “Family.”  They can keep their definitions-descriptions-afflictions to themselves.

This is the song that we’ll sing when it seems that no-one in the world has a clue about what’s true.

God blessed our birthdays and whose to say God’s blessing wasn’t upon us when we called it “family”?

Family.  “Family.”  They can keep their definitions-descriptions-afflictions to themselves.

We’re two leaves drifting on the same breeze, tumbling down, where we yellow and we brown… and we are

Family!  Family!  They can keep their definitions-descriptions-afflictions to them selves.

Why am I posting this now?  On Saturday I supported those marching in the Worcester Pride Parade.  I stood in front of the big United Methodist Church in Worcester.  My son and I stood alone at the church.  There were only two people standing in front of the Unitarian Church next door.  Further down the route a church around fifteen-strong stood in front of City Hall with placards asserting god’s certain judgment on sinners.  Among those marching in the parade were a group of teens COURAGEOUSLY walking together to promote a safe haven for gay teens in Worcester.  My son asks if they really need that in Worcester.  Well, given the lack of support from progressive believers and the dedicated condemnation from other believers, I’d say these teens can’t count on safe haven in churches.  One day I am confident they will if we will just take-back the higher ground.

I am considering sharing how  my conversation with one of those fundamentalists went that day.  Any interest in reading it?

Posted in: Changing Church